Skip to content

Lately

17 June, 2012

Untitled

E & A.
Fontenay-sous-Bois, June 2012.

* * *

… I’ve been buried under a mountain of literature which I have to review as a part of preparing my research proposal. It feels very strange to be doing something legal and being so very excited about it. Perhaps I was meant to be an academic after all.

… I’ve been running around le Bois de Vincennes with the young gentlemenn pictured above. As I imagined, playing monsters and Star Wars has been a very refreshing change from all the reading and thinking.

… I’ve been spending a lot of time drooling over eBay and flickr, dreaming about analogue photography. I can’t decide if I want a Pentax Spotmatic or a Canon AE-1, or, in case of the former, which lense to go for (I’m thinking 28 or 35 mm could be a nice change from the 50 mm I normally use), but I’m notoriously bad at making decisions and this may turn into a very lenghty deliberation.

… I’ve completely been neglecting this blog, which is lazy and rude and needs to stop right away. Fortunately there will be a lot of beautiful people visiting Paris over the next few weeks (oh, love summer!), so there should be a lot of pictures and adventures to share. I’m hoping for sunset picnics in Versailles, boozy walks along le Canal Saint Martin, complete with large bags of escargots from Du Pain et des Idées, and lenghty Lebanese dinners, but we’ll see. These things usually turn out even better than planned.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 19 June, 2012 09:08

    What a difficult choice ! Both are great cameras, eventhough I think the Pentax Spotmatic has a better quality and reliability (but you have to love the AE-1 for its imperfections !).
    My Pentax Spotmatic is a SP, the first version. My brother bought it on the internet one day and never used it for a few years, when I finally decided to give it a shot. It worked perfectly, even after being left on the shelves for some time (something I can’t say about my previous 35mm, an Olympus OM2). Plus the 50mm 1.8 is really great. The good thing about it is that it is fully manual, so you can use it without battery.
    Anyway, you can’t go wrong with either of these cameras, so good luck choosing ! haha :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

