Skip to content

Hanging around

16 May, 2012


Jardins des Tuileries.

* * *

One of the things that struck me the most when I first moved to Paris was how much time people spend outside of their home. I guess it’s only a logical consequence of living in small apartments, but the concept of spending your free time at the library, the café or even the park instead of at home in front of the TV really appeals to me.

* * *

I really liked this movie.

I don’t understand how I’ve managed to ignore it until now, but I recently discovered David Lebowitz‘ blog, and I absolutely adore it. Does anybody want to have a turkey melon party?

The markets are filling up with peonies, and while each flower costs a small fortune, I’ve never been more annoyed to not own any old-school flower vases. However, until I find the time for an excursion to the flea market, I console myself with looking at these beautiful pictures.

Saturday is the 8th Nuit européenne des musées, which I intend to celebrate by finally seeing the Helmut Newton exhibition at le Grand Palais. If I still lived in Saint Petersburg, this would be my event of choice. If someone has their way past, please do drop in and have a pivo on my behalf. By the way, does anybody know why la Nuit des musées is not celebrated in Helsinki?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 16 May, 2012 07:12

    Peonies are perhaps my favourite flowers and one of the nicest things about Germany is that flowers are never really expensive. I’m going to miiss that. Love your photos – the parks in Paris are simply amazing although I’m a real homebody so am glad to have a big enough flat to settle down in. Hope you enjoy the Helmut Newton exhibition; the first time I cam to Paris was to see an exhibition at the Grand Palais, such a wonderful space.

  2. 20 May, 2012 11:46

    Oh peonies… I spent a good moment drooling by the flower stands in the market again yesterday – I really need to find a vase ! I need to bring a little flower power into my tiny little Parisian apartment.

  3. 22 May, 2012 11:51

    Peonies are my favourite flowers too, I brought some back from my country house, I love their scent.. Thank you for your tips about St Peter ! How lucky you were to live near spas-na-krovy cathedral.. How long did you live in St Peter ? I plan to go to Loft Project Etagi also !

    • 23 May, 2012 02:06

      How wonderful, the scent of peonies is pure magic… My grandmother used to grow peonies at my country house too, so for me they remain the ultimate symbol of summer! :)

      I hope you do drop by Etagi, it’s such a cool place. Quite Berlin-ish actually. And living by the Spas-na-Krovyi definitely wasn’t half bad. It was entirely a happy accident, but I was very lucky that the first apartment that I visited was located in Bolshaya Konnyushennaya street, with the windows in the staircase having a view on the cathedral. In the end I stayed only for 9 months, but I kept going back regularly for work for several years. While Paris is absolutely beautiful, I often miss the pale Nordic light of Saint Petersburg (and the pies, of course ;). Have a lovely trip ! I will be very curious to hear about your impressions !

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

