Skip to content

Going to Helsinki

23 April, 2012
tags:

On Wednesday I’m off to Helsinki for two weeks. I’m absolutely thrilled to see my friends and family again, even though I can’t help being a little worried that speaking Swedish again will mess up the superficial Frenchness I’ve worked so hard over the past months to create.

Other things I’m looking forward to in Helsinki:

  • long lunches at Bistro Helsinki 15
  • pelmeni with dill and cranberries + Russian varieté on youtube with Anna
  • brunch + beers at Siltanen
  • buying fresh rye bread from Fazer + rushing home to eat it while it is still warm
  • singing spring songs and drinking bubbly in the park on Valborg.

If there are new things or places that you think I should absolutely try out, please leave a comment to let me know. It’s been years since I last had the chance to be a tourist in my own city, so I want to do absolutely everything !

P.s. For a little Helsinki/Finland in general inspiration, take a look at the beautiful photos here, here and here. So dreamy and beautiful (even though I’m quite content that the snow is gone now).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 25 April, 2012 09:42

    Thanks so much for leaving me a comment so I could discover your lovely blog. I’m so looking forward to hearing more about your time there. Oikein hyvää matkaa!

    • 28 April, 2012 10:31

      Kiitos itsellesi ! :) Your blog is so nice I can’t believe I haven’t gotten around to commenting before… Bad I. But I’m delighed that you like my creation as well, and I’ll make sure to take a lot of pictures to share here!

  2. 25 April, 2012 11:07

    Have a good time in Helsinki !
    I wish I could have visited it without the snow, it would have been much more easier ! I’m not used to the low temperatures haha.
    But Finland under the snow was beautiful, so I don’t regret it :)
    (And thanks for posting a link to my pictures. I’m really glad you liked them)

    • 28 April, 2012 10:43

      Kiitos, I’m there now and the sun is shining and the seagulls are screaming and it’s quite wonderful. I really hope you get a chance to visit again in the early summer sometime – it’s in May-July when the nights are light that this country is at its most beautiful. But while I absolutely prefer summer (I’ve filled my quota of -25 celsius winters and walking to school in 50 cms of snow ;), winter is pretty magical too with its snow-covered silent forrests and northern lights (as proven by your pictures!)…

      • 3 May, 2012 12:33

        I can believe so ! I didn’t get the chance to see northern lights, but starting in August I will (normally) study one year in Oslo, so I hope I’ll get to see some in Norway at least !
        And I would LOVE to see the midnight sun ! It must be magical.
        There is still so many things to see …

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

