Skip to content

Les falaises

20 April, 2012


Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled

* * *

This year, I spent Easter driving around the Northern parts of Normandy with a couple of friends.

I really wish I had taken pictures of the lovely hotel we stayed in in Fécamp, right on the edge of the cliffs, but we spent most of the weekend outside gawking at the view and when we finally made it inside, eating (and bathing) felt significantly more important than taking pictures. The food at the hotel was incredible, to the point where I would have been beyond happy not to eat anywhere else for the entire weekend, and the local cidre they served may just require its own separate post at some point in the future. It certainly derserves its own page of blissful ranting.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 20 April, 2012 12:55

    These photos are all breathtaking! Wonderfully captured! Thank you for sharing photos from your trip. I am in awe of this beauty and your talent.

  2. 20 April, 2012 05:05

    Thank you dear ! Such a magical place deserves a million photos…

  3. 25 April, 2012 09:44

    Your photos are so beautiful and atmospheric. I’ve always dreamed of seeing the falaises in Normandy. The one in the penultimate photo was described by Maupassant as being like an elephant dipping its trunk into the water.

    • 28 April, 2012 10:37

      Ooh, thank you for telling me about Maupassant – I’ve heard that cliff called “the elephant” so many times and I’ve always wondered about the origins of that nickname (even though I guess the association is pretty obvius).

      The falaises are so incredibly beautiful, and the light on the coast is absolutely amazing. I had been wanting to go forever, and I’m so happy we finally did…

  4. 25 April, 2012 11:02

    the first two pictures, wow !

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

